Apple
Apple Studio Display XDR
- 218 PPI Retina sharp on macOS
- 120 Hz ProMotion-class refresh
- 140W One-cable charging
- Thunderbolt 5 Daisy-chain capable
- 105 mm Height adjustment
- Built in Camera
Apple A3348 5K · 27″ · 218 PPI
Apple Studio Display XDR Review: 27-Inch 5K HDR for Mac
Parish Khan Research-based review 5 min read
RetinaDesk verdict
Outstanding
Colourists, HDR photo and video editors and retouchers who need reference-class HDR
Apple's successor to the Pro Display XDR, compressed into 27 inches. A 2,304-zone Mini-LED backlight, 2,000-nit HDR peaks, 120 Hz Adaptive Sync, native P3 and Adobe RGB, and 140W Thunderbolt 5 charging, with a tilt and height stand in the box. Reference-class HDR in a Studio Display chassis from $3,299.
Will it work with your Mac? Check against Apple's own limits in five seconds.Launch price
$3,299
Amazon prices move often; check today's.
As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases. It never changes your price.
The 30-second verdict
What you get, what you give up, and who it's for.
Why you'll love it
- Mini-LED backlight with 2,304 local dimming zones for professional HDR work
- 2,000-nit HDR peak and 1,000-nit sustained brightness, the highest of any Apple display
- 47 to 120 Hz Adaptive Sync, a first for an Apple desktop display
- Native Display P3 and Adobe RGB modes; the Pro Display XDR had no native Adobe RGB
- 140W Thunderbolt 5 charging powers a 16-inch MacBook Pro under full load
- Same 12MP Center Stage camera, three mics and six speakers as the Studio Display
- Tilt- and height-adjustable stand included at the base price
Think twice about
- $3,299 base, $3,599 with nano-texture glass: about twice a regular Studio Display
- Still 5K at 27 inches; no 6K option for buyers who want a bigger canvas
- Only two Thunderbolt 5 and two USB-C ports: no Ethernet, SD slot or video inputs
- No KVM or on-screen menu; every setting lives in macOS
- Camera and speakers are unchanged from the $1,599 Studio Display
Buy it if you're
- Colourists, HDR photo and video editors and retouchers who need reference-class HDR
- 16-inch Max MacBook Pro owners who want single-cable docking at full 140W
- Anyone who wanted Pro Display XDR-class HDR without its price
- Buyers choosing between the Studio Display and an alternative who genuinely need HDR
Skip it if you're
- Anyone who doesn't do HDR work: the regular Studio Display has the same resolution for half the price
- 6K workflows: the ASUS ProArt PA32QCV or LG UltraFine evo give you more canvas
- Budget buyers: the BenQ MA270S is $2,300 less with the same SDR sharpness
- Windows or cross-platform desks, given no KVM, no on-screen menu and macOS-only True Tone
Mac compatibility
Will the Apple Studio Display XDR work with your Mac?
Pick your Mac and we'll check it against Apple's own display limits for that exact model.
1 · Your Mac
2 · Its chip
We remember your Mac on this device only, so every RetinaDesk review checks it for you.
What we check
- Native 5K resolution
- Refresh rate
- How many at once
- One-cable charging
- Which port to use
Source: Apple's display-support pages for every Apple silicon Mac, as used by our external display tool.
Apple Studio Display XDR compatibility at a glance, by Mac
Works fully
- MacBook Air 13" (M4, M5)
- MacBook Air 15" (M4, M5)
- MacBook Pro 14" (M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max)
- MacBook Pro 16" (M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max)
- Mac mini (M2 Pro, M4, M4 Pro, M6, M5 Pro)
- Mac Studio (M2 Max, M2 Ultra, M4 Max, M3 Ultra, M5 Max, M5 Ultra)
- iMac 24" (M4 (2-port), M4 (4-port))
- Mac Pro (M2 Ultra)
Works, with a catch
- MacBook Air 13" (M1, M2, M3): Capped at 60 Hz
- MacBook Air 15" (M2, M3): Capped at 60 Hz
- MacBook Pro 13" (M1, M2): Capped at 60 Hz
- MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M3): Capped at 60 Hz
- MacBook Pro 16" (M1 Pro, M1 Max): Capped at 60 Hz
- Mac mini (M1, M2): Capped at 60 Hz
- Mac Studio (M1 Max, M1 Ultra): Capped at 60 Hz
- iMac 24" (M1 (2-port), M1 (4-port), M3 (2-port), M3 (4-port)): Capped at 60 Hz
Won't work
- MacBook Neo (A18 Pro): Needs a Thunderbolt port
From Apple's published display limits and charger wattages for each Mac. Pick yours above for the full detail.
Front
On the desk
On the desk
On the desk
Close-up How it stacks up
Where the Apple Studio Display XDR lands against its rivals.
Manufacturer specs for every monitor we cover. Further right is better. Tap a dot to open that review.
Price (MSRP)
6th of 6
$3,299
Rated SDR brightness
Best of 6
1000 nits
Refresh rate
Best of 6
120 Hz
Laptop charging
Best of 6
140W
Stand height travel
5th of 6
105 mm
Pixel density
Same across all 6
218 PPI
Every monitor here matches it, so this one is a level playing field.
Price (MSRP)
10th of 10
$3,299
Rated SDR brightness
Best of 10
1000 nits
Refresh rate
Best of 10
120 Hz
Laptop charging
Best (tied) of 10
140W
Stand height travel
7th of 10
105 mm
Pixel density
4th of 10
218 PPI
The verdict, up top
In 2019 Apple introduced the Pro Display XDR as its 32-inch 6K reference display. After discontinuing it in March 2026, Apple replaced it with something smaller, more modern and much cheaper: the Studio Display XDR. It takes the familiar Studio Display chassis and adds a Mini-LED backlight, a 120 Hz panel, native Adobe RGB alongside P3, and Thunderbolt 5 with 140W charging, for $3,299. Unlike the Pro Display XDR, the tilt- and height-adjustable stand is included.
For Mac professionals who work in HDR, this is the display they have been asking for, and on almost every measure it is better than the monitor it replaces.
The panel: 27-inch 5K Retina XDR with real HDR
The resolution is the same 5120 × 2880 as the regular Studio Display, at the 218 PPI density macOS is designed around. The difference is behind the pixels: a Mini-LED backlight with 2,304 local dimming zones, roughly four times as many as the Pro Display XDR’s 576 zones, in a screen two-thirds the size. Apple quotes the same 1,000,000:1 contrast as the old Pro.
Sustained brightness reaches 1,000 nits, the highest of any Apple display, and HDR peaks at 2,000 nits, 400 nits above the Pro Display XDR. The panel runs from 47 to 120 Hz with Adaptive Sync, making it the first Apple desktop display above 60 Hz.
Colour is a meaningful upgrade too. The Pro Display XDR had native P3 but no Adobe RGB mode; the Studio Display XDR has both as native gamuts with dedicated reference modes, which matters for photographers mastering in Adobe RGB.
Ports, power and the single-cable desk
There are two Thunderbolt 5 ports at 120 Gb/s and two USB-C ports at 10 Gb/s. The upstream Thunderbolt 5 port delivers 140W, 44W more than the regular Studio Display, enough to run a 16-inch M4 Max or M5 Max MacBook Pro at full load without its charger. The downstream port can daisy-chain a second display or connect a Thunderbolt 5 SSD.
One cable carries the picture, data and full-speed charging, which makes this the first Apple display that fully replaces a pro laptop dock.
Which Macs get 120 Hz
Check this before you order, because it is the one feature your Mac can take away. Apple’s compatibility note says Macs with M1, M1 Pro, M1 Max, M1 Ultra, M2 and M3 run the Studio Display XDR at up to 60 Hz. Everything else still works on those machines: the Mini-LED backlight, the 2,000-nit peak, the reference modes, Adobe RGB and 140W charging.
You get the full 120 Hz with Adaptive Sync on M2 Pro, M2 Max and M2 Ultra, on M3 Pro, M3 Max and M3 Ultra, and on every M4, M5 and M6 Mac, including the machines Apple shipped in September 2026: the M6 and M5 Pro Mac mini and the M5 Max and M5 Ultra Mac Studio.
The awkward case is M1 Max and M1 Ultra. They are still capable machines that drive up to four or five external displays depending on the model, but they are on the 60 Hz list. If desktop ProMotion is part of why you are spending $3,299, check your chip first in our external display support tool.
None of this needs Thunderbolt 5. 5K at 120 Hz fits within DisplayPort 1.4 with DSC, so a Thunderbolt 4 Mac such as the M6 Mac mini or an M5 MacBook Air drives the panel at full refresh. Thunderbolt 5 buys you the 140W charging and the downstream daisy-chain, not the refresh rate.
Stand and glass
The tilt- and height-adjustable stand is included at the base price. Apple never did that with the Pro Display XDR, where the Pro Stand was a $999 extra, or with the regular Studio Display, where height adjustment costs $400. It is one of the most welcome changes in the line.
Nano-texture glass is still a $300 option. It suits desks facing a window or under very bright light. Standard glass keeps more contrast and a crisper look, and is the better default for most rooms.
Camera and speakers
The 12MP Center Stage camera, three-mic array and six-speaker Spatial Audio system are the same as on the regular Studio Display. They were already excellent there, but there is no audio upgrade for the higher price. Serious audio work still needs dedicated speakers and a microphone.
What about 6K?
The Studio Display XDR is not a 6K display. If you need a bigger canvas, the 32-inch 6K ASUS ProArt PA32QCV costs about $1,299, the LG UltraFine evo 32U990A adds Thunderbolt 5, and the Dell UltraSharp U3224KB suits enterprise desks. If a glass front is a big part of why you want an Apple display, the Kuycon G32P is the only 6K left with one. Apple is betting that 27-inch 5K with true HDR is worth more to most pros than 32-inch 6K without it, and for HDR and colour-critical work that is mostly right. For space-hungry, multi-window workflows, look at those 6K options. Our Studio Display XDR vs ASUS PA32QCV comparison walks through that trade-off.
Who should buy it
If you do HDR colour work on a Mac, this is the monitor for you: the only Apple display that delivers 2,000-nit HDR peaks with 2,304 dimming zones out of the box, now that the six-year-old Pro Display XDR is gone.
If you don’t work in HDR, buy the regular Apple Studio Display at $1,599 or the BenQ MA270S at $999. Both have the same 5K resolution and 218 PPI; the BenQ runs at 70 Hz with no Mini-LED. For text, Xcode, writing and SDR design, neither 120 Hz nor Mini-LED adds much. The Studio Display vs Studio Display XDR comparison breaks down the differences.
The bottom line
The Studio Display XDR is the first Apple desktop display in seven years to push the specification forward in ways that matter: 2,000-nit HDR, 2,304-zone Mini-LED, 120 Hz, native Adobe RGB, 140W Thunderbolt 5 and a height-adjustable stand in the box, all for $3,299. That is a better monitor than the $4,999 Pro Display XDR plus its $999 stand.
It is the new default for HDR professionals on the Mac. For everyone else the regular Studio Display makes more sense, and our Studio Display alternatives guide covers the rest of the field.
The bottom line
Apple Studio Display XDR: outstanding
Apple's successor to the Pro Display XDR, compressed into 27 inches. A 2,304-zone Mini-LED backlight, 2,000-nit HDR peaks, 120 Hz Adaptive Sync, native P3 and Adobe RGB, and 140W Thunderbolt 5 charging, with a tilt and height stand in the box. Reference-class HDR in a Studio Display chassis from $3,299.
$3,299
launch price · Amazon's price changes often
As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases.
Independent lab measurements
What the Apple Studio Display XDR actually measures
Apple claims 1000 nits SDR, 2000 nits peak HDR and 1,000,000:1. Two labs measured the panel and both confirm the 2000-nit peak — but only up to a 25% window, after which it falls away to roughly 1000 nits full-screen. The contrast claim is where they part company. Every figure is attributed to the lab that measured it.
HDR peak brightness
1,970 nits
−1% vs Apple's 2,000
3 labs · 1,970–2,000
Primary: Greg Benz Photography
Sequential contrast
600,000:1
−40% vs Apple's 1,000,000:1
2 labs · 600,000–1,000,000:1
Primary: Greg Benz Photography
DCI-P3 coverage
99.7%
Matches Apple's 100%
2 labs · 99.0–99.7%
Primary: Greg Benz Photography
Colour accuracy
0.90 ΔE
55% below Apple's 2
5 labs · 0.20–0.90
Primary: Greg Benz Photography
Measured colour gamut coverage
Measured Apple claims
Claimed 100% · Greg Benz Photography
Claimed 100% · Greg Benz Photography
Claimed 100% · XDR Display P3 mode, out of the box · PetaPixel
Engadget also measured 81%; LTT Labs 73–80% across modes · Greg Benz Photography
HDR luminance by window size
- 25% window
- 1,970 nits Greg Benz Photography
- 50% window
- 1,700 nits Greg Benz Photography
- 75% window
- 1,200 nits Greg Benz Photography
- 100% full screen LTT Labs measured the same ~1000 nit full-field floor
- 980 nits Greg Benz Photography
Contrast
- Sequential contrast
- 600,000:1 Greg Benz Photography
- Intra-frame, 4×4 checkerboard The number that matters for real mixed-content scenes
- 16,000:1 Greg Benz Photography
- Intra-frame, tight checkerboard
- 9,000:1 Greg Benz Photography
- Local dimming zones Enough to bloom visibly on subtitles and off-axis
- 2,304 LTT Labs
SDR & colour
- SDR brightness, ambient sensor stimulated P3-2000 nits mode, constant across window sizes
- 1,000 nits LTT Labs
- SDR brightness, default Without stimulating the ambient light sensor
- 467 nits Tom's Guide
- Average error, reference modes All modes 0.6–0.8 average, max 1.6–2.3
- 0.60 ΔE LTT Labs
- Average error after calibration Fine-tune calibration; factory was already 0.9
- 0.80 ΔE Greg Benz Photography
Why the mode you pick matters
- Adobe RGB in the P3 general mode Measured out of the box in XDR Display P3
- 85.7% PetaPixel
- Adobe RGB in the Adobe RGB reference mode Same panel, 14 points of coverage apart
- 99.5% Greg Benz Photography
- DCI-P3 in the P3 general mode
- 98.3% PetaPixel
Panel uniformity
- Contrast deviation, central area Worst of the central zones in a 9×5 grid
- 2.47% PetaPixel
- Contrast deviation, worst corner Upper right
- 11% PetaPixel
Where these numbers come from
RetinaDesk does not run a photometry lab. Every figure above is an instrumented reading published by the lab named beside it, collected here so you can compare them against Apple's claimed specification in one place. Each lab's full review is linked below, so you can check any number at its source. Our own contribution for the Apple Studio Display XDR is the Mac side: which Macs drive it at native resolution, over which port and cable, described in our methodology.
- LTT Labs
Colorimetry Research CR-100 colorimeter
- Greg Benz Photography
Greg Benz · Calman + CR-250 spectroradiometer, Calibrite Display Plus HL
- Engadget
Calibrite colorimeter
- PetaPixel
Colorimeter (model not disclosed)
- Tom's Guide
Nikita Achanta · Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)
Compare the Apple Studio Display XDR
Head-to-head with the monitors most shoppers cross-shop against.
Pick any other monitor from our catalog and see the spec-by-spec matchup instantly.
Before you buy
Check your Mac and your cable.
Three quick checks that determine whether the Apple Studio Display XDR will actually run at its full resolution on your specific Mac.
Mac PPI Calculator & Retina Checker
See how the 5K panel at 27" will actually render on macOS, and how it compares to Retina targets.
Open calculatorMac Cable Bandwidth Calculator
Confirm your USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort or Thunderbolt cable can carry 5K at 120Hz from your Mac.
Check my cableMac External Display Support
Check whether your exact Apple Silicon Mac (M1 through M6) can drive the Apple Studio Display XDR at native resolution.
Look up my Mac