Skip to main content
RetinaDesk
5K 27"

BenQ

BenQ MA270S

BenQ BenQ MA270S 5K 27-inch monitor for Mac
  • 218 PPI Retina sharp on macOS
  • 70 Hz Refresh rate
  • 96W One-cable charging
  • Thunderbolt 4 Daisy-chain capable
  • 150 mm Height adjustment
  • None Camera

BenQ MA270S 5K · 27″ · 218 PPI

BenQ MA270S Review: The $999 Studio Display Alternative

Research-based review 4 min read

RetinaDesk verdict

Outstanding

MacBook Pro owners who want Retina sharpness without paying Apple prices

The best-value 5K monitor for Mac. It matches the Studio Display's 218 PPI for $999 and adds a height-adjustable stand, dual Thunderbolt 4 with 96W charging and daisy-chain, a 70 Hz panel, a KVM and a Mac-tuned colour mode. There is no camera and the speakers are basic, but you save $600.

Will it work with your Mac? Check against Apple's own limits in five seconds.

Launch price

$999

Amazon prices move often; check today's.

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases. It never changes your price.

The 30-second verdict

What you get, what you give up, and who it's for.

Why you'll love it

  • 5120 × 2880 at 27 inches: the same 218 PPI Retina density as the Studio Display
  • Nano Gloss surface keeps a crisp, glossy look while cutting reflections
  • 99% Display P3 with an M-book mode that matches macOS colour rendering
  • 70 Hz refresh, unusual in the 5K Mac class
  • Two Thunderbolt 4 ports: 96W charging upstream and daisy-chain to a second 5K downstream
  • Built-in KVM, two HDMI inputs and a second USB-C input for another computer
  • Fully adjustable stand with 150 mm of height travel, swivel, pivot and VESA 100

Think twice about

  • No built-in webcam, a deal-breaker for some office setups
  • Two 3W speakers are usable but nowhere near the Studio Display's six-speaker system
  • Plastic build, and measured brightness (387 nits) falls short of the 450-nit claim

Buy it if you're

  • MacBook Pro owners who want Retina sharpness without paying Apple prices
  • Anyone who already owns a webcam and desktop speakers
  • Freelance designers on a budget who need Display P3 accuracy
  • Pro and Max Mac owners who want two 5K screens from one Thunderbolt port

Skip it if you're

  • Offices where a built-in camera for video calls matters
  • Base M1 or M2 MacBook owners planning a daisy-chained second display
  • Buyers who want aluminium build and premium industrial design

Mac compatibility

Will the BenQ MA270S work with your Mac?

Pick your Mac and we'll check it against Apple's own display limits for that exact model.

1 · Your Mac

2 · Its chip

Pick your Mac first. Not sure? Apple menu → About This Mac.

We remember your Mac on this device only, so every RetinaDesk review checks it for you.

What we check

  • Native 5K resolution
  • Refresh rate
  • How many at once
  • One-cable charging
  • Which port to use

Source: Apple's display-support pages for every Apple silicon Mac, as used by our external display tool.

BenQ MA270S compatibility at a glance, by Mac

Works fully

  • MacBook Air 13" (M1, M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Air 15" (M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Pro 13" (M1, M2)
  • MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max)
  • Mac mini (M1, M2, M2 Pro, M4, M4 Pro, M6, M5 Pro)
  • Mac Studio (M1 Max, M1 Ultra, M2 Max, M2 Ultra, M4 Max, M3 Ultra, M5 Max, M5 Ultra)
  • iMac 24" (M1 (2-port), M1 (4-port), M3 (2-port), M3 (4-port), M4 (2-port), M4 (4-port))
  • Mac Pro (M2 Ultra)

Works, with a catch

  • MacBook Pro 16" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max): 96W charging, slightly short

Won't work

  • MacBook Neo (A18 Pro): Can't run 5K

From Apple's published display limits and charger wattages for each Mac. Pick yours above for the full detail.

How it stacks up

Where the BenQ MA270S lands against its rivals.

Manufacturer specs for every monitor we cover. Further right is better. Tap a dot to open that review.

Price (MSRP)

2nd of 6

$999

$3,299 $799

Rated SDR brightness

4th of 6

450 nits

400 nits 1000 nits

Refresh rate

2nd of 6

70 Hz

60 Hz 120 Hz

Laptop charging

2nd of 6

96W

90W 140W

Stand height travel

Best (tied) of 6

150 mm

None 150 mm

Pixel density

Same across all 6

218 PPI

Every monitor here matches it, so this one is a level playing field.

The verdict, up top

The BenQ MA270S is the monitor many Mac owners hoped someone would make: a 218 PPI 5K panel with 99% Display P3 colour and single-cable Thunderbolt charging, plus a height-adjustable stand in the box. It adds dual Thunderbolt 4 for daisy-chaining, extra USB-C charging ports for a phone or tablet, and a KVM for a second computer. At $999 it costs $600 less than the Apple Studio Display, and for most people the only real losses are the camera and the speakers.

The panel

The MA270S uses a 27-inch 5120 × 2880 IPS panel, the same resolution and 218 PPI density as the Studio Display. macOS renders it at a clean 2× scale, so text looks as sharp as a MacBook Pro’s built-in screen.

Colour targets 99% Display P3, and the M-book picture mode matches macOS’s default rendering pipeline so colours line up with your MacBook’s screen. Independent measurements back this up: Tom’s Guide recorded an average colour error of 0.09 ΔE, the best in its comparison set and ahead of the Studio Display (see the lab figures below). For colour-critical client work with a printed calibration report, the BenQ PD2730S is still the more documented choice.

BenQ’s Nano Gloss coating is a subtle anti-reflective treatment that keeps the crisp look of glossy glass while cutting glare. It sits between the Studio Display’s standard glass and its $300 nano-texture option. The one figure that falls short is brightness: BenQ claims 450 nits, Tom’s Guide measured 387. That is fine for most rooms but dimmer than the Studio Display’s 600.

The stand

Apple charges $400 extra for a height-adjustable Studio Display stand. BenQ includes one: 150 mm of height travel, swivel, 90° pivot for portrait mode, tilt from −5° to +20°, and a VESA 100 mount if you prefer an arm. If you work long days, proper ergonomics matter more than most spec-sheet numbers.

Thunderbolt 4 and daisy-chain

The MA270S has two Thunderbolt 4 ports. The upstream port charges your Mac at 96W while carrying the 5K picture and data. The downstream port can daisy-chain a second MA270S, so two 5K displays run from a single port on your Mac.

There is a catch, and it comes from your Mac rather than the monitor. Daisy-chaining does not raise the number of displays your Mac can drive; Apple is explicit about that. It only lets both displays share one port. You need a Mac that already supports two external displays over Thunderbolt: every Pro and Max chip from the M1 Pro onward, the base M4, M5 and M6 chips, and the base M3 MacBook Air with its lid closed. The base M1 and M2 MacBook Air, the 13-inch MacBook Pro and the M1 iMac are limited to one external display, and no cable or dock changes that. The M1 and M2 Mac mini do drive two displays, but the second goes out over HDMI, which stops at 4K 60 Hz on those machines, so a second 5K panel is out either way. Check your exact Mac with our external display support tool.

What you give up compared with the Studio Display

There is no built-in camera, which is a surprising omission at this price in 2026. A good separate 4K webcam costs $150 to $200. If you rarely take video calls, that does not matter; if you work from home on calls all day, the Studio Display’s 12MP Center Stage camera is genuinely excellent.

The two 3W speakers work for notifications and the odd video, but they are nowhere near the Studio Display’s six-speaker system. Budget for desktop speakers if you do not already own some.

The body is well-made plastic. Next to the Studio Display’s aluminium it looks and feels cheaper, so if design matters to you, factor that in.

The single-cable workflow

One Thunderbolt cable from a MacBook Pro to the MA270S carries 5K video, 96W of charging, the USB hub and the daisy-chain link. That is the same tidy desk the Studio Display offers. The extra HDMI ports and second USB-C input, plus the KVM, make it easy to share the monitor with a work laptop or a games console.

Who should buy it

  • MacBook Pro owners who want the full Retina experience at the lowest sensible price
  • Mac owners who already have a decent webcam and speakers
  • Freelance designers and developers who need accurate Display P3 colour
  • Pro and Max Mac owners (M1 Pro onward) planning a two-monitor, single-port desk

The bottom line

The MA270S is the strongest alternative to the Studio Display for anyone who looked at Apple’s price and hesitated. Against a Studio Display with the height-adjustable stand ($1,999), you get a better stand and the same Retina sharpness for half the money. The Studio Display still wins on camera, speakers and aluminium build. If those three do not matter to you, the MA270S is the smarter buy.

For the full field, see our best 5K monitors for MacBook Pro guide and the Studio Display alternatives round-up. Weighing it against the cheaper ASUS? Read ASUS PA27JCV vs BenQ MA270S.

The bottom line

BenQ MA270S: outstanding

The best-value 5K monitor for Mac. It matches the Studio Display's 218 PPI for $999 and adds a height-adjustable stand, dual Thunderbolt 4 with 96W charging and daisy-chain, a 70 Hz panel, a KVM and a Mac-tuned colour mode. There is no camera and the speakers are basic, but you save $600.

$999

launch price · Amazon's price changes often

Check it with my Mac

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases.

Still deciding? Read BenQ MA270S vs ASUS ProArt PA27JCV

Independent lab measurements

What the BenQ MA270S actually measures

BenQ claims 450 nits and 2000:1 for the MA270S. Tom's Guide's lab measured the panel at 387 nits — the one figure here that falls short of its claim. Colour is the opposite story: at 0.09ΔE it is the most accurate display in Tom's Guide's comparison set, Apple's included. Independent measurement of this panel is still thin, so this section is smaller than most.

1 independent lab Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Maximum SDR brightness

387.4 nits

−14% vs BenQ's 450

Primary: Tom's Guide

HDR peak brightness

272 nits

BenQ publishes no HDR peak figure

Primary: Tom's Guide

Colour accuracy

0.09 ΔE

Primary: Tom's Guide

DCI-P3 gamut volume

112.4%

Primary: Tom's Guide

Colour

sRGB gamut volume Volume relative to sRGB, not coverage
158.7% Tom's Guide
DCI-P3 gamut volume
112.4% Tom's Guide
Average colour error Beat the Apple Studio Display's 0.2 on the same rig
0.09 ΔE Tom's Guide

Measured against its rivals

Apple Studio Display, SDR brightness Same lab, same method — the MA270S is dimmer
518 nits Tom's Guide
BenQ PD2730S, SDR brightness
346 nits Tom's Guide
Apple Studio Display, colour error
0.20 ΔE Tom's Guide

Where these numbers come from

RetinaDesk does not run a photometry lab. Every figure above is an instrumented reading published by the lab named beside it, collected here so you can compare them against BenQ's claimed specification in one place. Each lab's full review is linked below, so you can check any number at its source. Our own contribution for the BenQ MA270S is the Mac side: which Macs drive it at native resolution, over which port and cable, described in our methodology.

  • Tom's Guide

    Nikita Achanta · Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Compare the BenQ MA270S

Head-to-head with the monitors most shoppers cross-shop against.

Pick any other monitor from our catalog and see the spec-by-spec matchup instantly.

Before you buy

Three quick checks that determine whether the BenQ MA270S will actually run at its full resolution on your specific Mac.

Your shortlist

Monitors you're weighing

Saved on this device only. Come back any time.