Skip to main content
RetinaDesk
6K 32"

Apple

Apple Pro Display XDR

Apple Apple Pro Display XDR 6K 32-inch monitor for Mac
  • 218 PPI Retina sharp on macOS
  • 60 Hz Refresh rate
  • 96W One-cable charging
  • Thunderbolt 3 Connection
  • Optional Stand sold separately
  • None Camera

Apple A1999 6K · 32″ · 218 PPI

Apple Pro Display XDR Review: The Discontinued 32-Inch 6K Reference

Research-based review 4 min read

Discontinued · no longer sold new by Apple

RetinaDesk verdict

Outstanding

HDR colourists and video creators who need 1,000-nit sustained brightness at 32 inches

Apple's only 32-inch 6K display, launched in 2019 and discontinued in March 2026. 1,000 nits sustained and 1,600 nits peak HDR, a 576-zone Mini-LED backlight and factory-calibrated reference modes. Still sold used and by some resellers, and still one of the best 6K panels for colour-critical Mac work.

Will it work with your Mac? Check against Apple's own limits in five seconds.

The 30-second verdict

What you get, what you give up, and who it's for.

Why you'll love it

  • 32-inch 6K at 218 PPI, about 40% more canvas than a 27-inch 5K
  • 1,000-nit sustained and 1,600-nit peak HDR brightness
  • 576 local dimming zones for deep HDR contrast
  • Factory-calibrated reference modes including HDR Video (P3-ST 2084), DCI-P3, BT.709 and sRGB
  • Optional nano-texture glass, the strongest anti-glare treatment available
  • Oxide TFT panel with very wide viewing angles and minimal colour shift

Think twice about

  • Launched at $4,999 (nano-texture $5,999), with the Pro Stand a separate $999
  • A single Thunderbolt 3 port with 96W charging is dated in 2026
  • No camera, speakers or microphones
  • 60 Hz only, despite the price
  • Discontinued in March 2026, so stock is limited and mostly used

Buy it if you're

  • HDR colourists and video creators who need 1,000-nit sustained brightness at 32 inches
  • Photographers and retouchers who want a 32-inch P3 canvas at Retina density
  • Studios with an existing Mac Pro or Mac Studio setup that need a reference display
  • Buyers who value Apple design and don't need a camera or speakers

Skip it if you're

  • Anyone on a budget: the ASUS ProArt PA32QCV gives most of the everyday value for about a quarter of the price
  • Anyone who wants a single-cable desk with camera, speakers and mics: consider the Studio Display or Studio Display XDR
  • Gamers or anyone who wants high refresh rates
  • First-time buyers of a Mac display

Mac compatibility

Will the Apple Pro Display XDR work with your Mac?

Pick your Mac and we'll check it against Apple's own display limits for that exact model.

1 · Your Mac

2 · Its chip

Pick your Mac first. Not sure? Apple menu → About This Mac.

We remember your Mac on this device only, so every RetinaDesk review checks it for you.

What we check

  • Native 6K resolution
  • Refresh rate
  • How many at once
  • One-cable charging
  • Which port to use

Source: Apple's display-support pages for every Apple silicon Mac, as used by our external display tool.

Apple Pro Display XDR compatibility at a glance, by Mac

Works fully

  • MacBook Air 13" (M1, M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Air 15" (M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Pro 13" (M1, M2)
  • MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max)
  • Mac mini (M1, M2, M2 Pro, M4, M4 Pro, M6, M5 Pro)
  • Mac Studio (M1 Max, M1 Ultra, M2 Max, M2 Ultra, M4 Max, M3 Ultra, M5 Max, M5 Ultra)
  • iMac 24" (M1 (2-port), M1 (4-port), M3 (2-port), M3 (4-port), M4 (2-port), M4 (4-port))
  • Mac Pro (M2 Ultra)

Works, with a catch

  • MacBook Pro 16" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max): 96W charging, slightly short

Won't work

  • MacBook Neo (A18 Pro): Needs a Thunderbolt port

From Apple's published display limits and charger wattages for each Mac. Pick yours above for the full detail.

How it stacks up

Where the Apple Pro Display XDR lands against its rivals.

Manufacturer specs for every monitor we cover. Further right is better. Tap a dot to open that review.

Price (MSRP)

5th of 5

$4,999

$4,999 $1,299

Rated SDR brightness

Best (tied) of 5

500 nits

400 nits 500 nits

Refresh rate

Same across all 5

60 Hz

Every monitor here matches it, so this one is a level playing field.

Laptop charging

3rd of 5

96W

96W 140W

Stand height travel

4th of 5

None

None 160 mm

Pixel density

4th of 5

218 PPI

218 PPI 224 PPI

The verdict, up top

Apple built the Pro Display XDR for professionals: film colourists, photo retouchers and anyone who needs a colour-accurate 32-inch 6K reference panel, usually alongside a Mac Pro or Mac Studio. It launched in late 2019 at $4,999 with standard glass or $5,999 with nano-texture, plus $999 for the Pro Stand. Apple discontinued it in March 2026.

Seven years on, the panel is still excellent: 32-inch 6K at 218 PPI, 1,000 nits sustained HDR, 1,600-nit peaks, a 576-zone Mini-LED backlight and factory-calibrated colour. Nothing else at 32 inches combines all of that, which is why it still matters even though you can no longer buy it new from Apple.

The panel

6016 × 3384 pixels on a 32-inch IPS LCD works out to 218 PPI, the same Retina density as a MacBook Pro’s built-in screen, spread over about 40% more area than a 27-inch 5K. Oxide TFT technology gives very wide viewing angles with little colour shift.

The Mini-LED backlight has 576 full-array local dimming zones that work together with the LCD layer, so HDR blacks look deep instead of the washed-out grey of edge-lit “HDR” monitors. It is not OLED: small bright objects on pure black can show some blooming, the usual Mini-LED trade-off.

Brightness is what earns the XDR name: 1,000 nits sustained full-screen in HDR, not a brief flash, and 1,600-nit peaks for highlights. SDR runs at 500 nits, enough for any office.

Reference modes and colour

The Pro Display XDR ships with factory-calibrated reference modes that cover most professional workflows:

  • HDR Video (P3-ST 2084) for grading HDR10
  • Pro Display XDR (P3-1600 nits), Apple’s default HDR mode
  • Digital Cinema (P3-DCI) and P3-D65 for theatrical and HDR projects
  • HDTV Video (BT.709-BT.1886) for broadcast and streaming SDR
  • NTSC/PAL Video (BT.601) for archival broadcast work
  • Design and Print (P3-D50) for prepress and fine art
  • Photography (P3-D65) for display-first photo editing
  • Internet and Web (sRGB) for web deliverables
  • Apple Display (P3-500 nits) for general desktop use

Apple calibrates each unit to these targets at the factory, and switching modes is instant. You can fine-tune with a colorimeter through Apple’s Pro Display Calibrator, but most owners never need to.

The Pro Stand question

The Pro Display XDR shipped with no stand. You bought either the $999 Pro Stand, with magnetic attachment and height adjustment, or a $199 VESA Mount Adapter. The $999 stand was the most criticised part of the launch, especially as competitors include comparable stands in the box.

A good VESA monitor arm costs around $300, so pairing the adapter with an arm saves about $700. If you buy used, check whether the Pro Stand or VESA adapter is included; often it isn’t.

Connectivity in 2026

This is where the Pro Display XDR shows its age. It has a single Thunderbolt 3 port (40 Gb/s, 96W charging) plus three USB-C hub ports, and no camera, speakers or microphones. It is a display in the purest sense.

That was fine in 2019. In 2026, a new MacBook Pro has Thunderbolt 5, but the XDR runs at Thunderbolt 3 speeds, does not daisy-chain, and its 96W charging can fall behind a 16-inch M4 Max or M5 Max under heavy load.

Why you might still buy one in 2026

Nobody else makes a 32-inch 6K with this combination of features. The ASUS ProArt PA32QCV, LG UltraFine evo 32U990A and Dell UltraSharp U3224KB match its size and sharpness, but none has its Mini-LED backlight, HDR brightness or reference modes.

HDR mastering is the second reason. Sustained 1,000-nit brightness is what HDR grading needs, and typical “HDR” monitors with 400 to 600 nits and edge-lit backlights cannot hit HDR10 reference targets.

The third is macOS integration: Pro Display Calibrator, True Tone and reference-mode switching built into System Settings.

Who should skip it

For SDR work it is overkill. If you aren’t mastering HDR or doing colour-critical 6K work, the Apple Studio Display (27-inch 5K, $1,599) or ASUS ProArt PA32QCV (32-inch 6K, $1,299) gives most of the practical experience for a fraction of the cost. If you want HDR but not the 32-inch size, Apple’s 27-inch Studio Display XDR is brighter, faster and cheaper, with the stand included.

The 2026 buying reality

Apple discontinued the Pro Display XDR in March 2026, so it is no longer sold on apple.com. Units still turn up on Amazon, from some Apple Authorised Resellers and on the used market. Prices have held up; Apple hasn’t liquidated stock, so don’t expect a fire sale.

If you need 32-inch 6K with true HDR today and can find one, it is still a defensible purchase. Apple has not announced a 32-inch successor; the Studio Display XDR replaces it at 27 inches. Rumours point to a new 32-inch Apple reference display in 2027, but nothing is confirmed.

If you are chasing the look rather than the HDR, the Kuycon G32P has a laminated glass front and perforated aluminium back. Its Nano IPS Black panel is nowhere near the XDR for HDR, but on a desk it looks remarkably similar.

The bottom line

The Pro Display XDR is a seven-year-old display that has aged better than almost anything in its class. It is still the definitive 32-inch 6K reference panel for the Mac. It was always expensive, especially the stand, and it lacks modern conveniences like a camera, Thunderbolt 5 and daisy-chain. For HDR-critical work at 32 inches it remains excellent, even next to its smaller 27-inch successor.

Discontinued product

Apple has stopped selling the Apple Pro Display XDR. This review is preserved for reference. Amazon third-party listings may still exist but stock is not guaranteed.

Independent lab measurements

What the Apple Pro Display XDR actually measures

Apple claimed 1600 nits sustained HDR, 500 nits SDR and reference-grade accuracy for the Pro Display XDR. PCMag's lab put it to the test in 2020 and the panel came within 40 nits of the headline claim, with colour accuracy under 0.7ΔE across every preset. These figures are attributed to the lab that measured them.

1 independent lab Colorimeter (model not disclosed)

HDR peak brightness

1,560.9 nits

−2% vs Apple's 1,600

Primary: PCMag

Maximum SDR brightness

499 nits

Matches Apple's 500

Primary: PCMag

Measured contrast

12,460:1

Apple's 1,000,000:1 is a zone-level figure

Primary: PCMag

Colour accuracy

0.68 ΔE

66% below Apple's 2

Primary: PCMag

Measured colour gamut coverage

Measured Apple claims

DCI-P3 98.7%

Claimed 99% · PCMag

Adobe RGB 96.7%

Not a claimed figure · PCMag

Brightness & contrast

Black level Lowest PCMag had measured outside OLED
0.04 nits PCMag
Measured contrast ratio Full-field measurement; Apple's 1,000,000:1 is a zone-level figure
12,460:1 PCMag

Colour accuracy

Best preset error All three presets landed under the 1.0 top-tier threshold
0.68 ΔE PCMag

Where these numbers come from

RetinaDesk does not run a photometry lab. Every figure above is an instrumented reading published by the lab named beside it, collected here so you can compare them against Apple's claimed specification in one place. Each lab's full review is linked below, so you can check any number at its source. Our own contribution for the Apple Pro Display XDR is the Mac side: which Macs drive it at native resolution, over which port and cable, described in our methodology.

  • PCMag

    Colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Before you buy

Three quick checks that determine whether the Apple Pro Display XDR will actually run at its full resolution on your specific Mac.

Your shortlist

Monitors you're weighing

Saved on this device only. Come back any time.