Skip to main content
RetinaDesk
5K 27"

Apple

Apple Studio Display

Apple Apple Studio Display 5K 27-inch monitor for Mac
  • 218 PPI Retina sharp on macOS
  • 60 Hz Refresh rate
  • 96W One-cable charging
  • Thunderbolt 5 Daisy-chain capable
  • Tilt only Height stand costs extra
  • Built in Camera

Apple A3350 5K · 27″ · 218 PPI

Apple Studio Display Review: Still the Default 5K Monitor for Mac

Research-based review 3 min read

RetinaDesk verdict

Outstanding

MacBook Pro and Mac Studio owners who want one cable for display, charging and peripherals

The simplest 27-inch 5K for a Mac. A 218 PPI P3 panel, one Thunderbolt 5 cable for picture, charging and data, the best camera in any monitor and six speakers that sound like a decent desktop set. You pay an Apple premium, and you get Apple polish in return.

Will it work with your Mac? Check against Apple's own limits in five seconds.

Launch price

$1,599

Amazon prices move often; check today's.

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases. It never changes your price.

The 30-second verdict

What you get, what you give up, and who it's for.

Why you'll love it

  • 218 PPI Retina panel renders text exactly like a MacBook Pro's built-in screen
  • Two Thunderbolt 5 ports (120 Gb/s) with 96W host charging and daisy-chain
  • 12MP Ultra Wide camera with Center Stage and Desk View, the best webcam built into any monitor
  • Six-speaker system with Spatial Audio that replaces a pair of desktop speakers
  • Optional nano-texture glass for rooms with bright, direct light
  • 100% Display P3 with True Tone and reference modes for common colour workflows

Think twice about

  • $1,599 to start; the height-adjustable stand (+$400) and nano-texture glass (+$300) cost extra
  • 60 Hz only, while rivals and the Studio Display XDR now go higher
  • No HDR: 600 nits SDR, no local dimming
  • Apple does not publish a contrast ratio
  • Tilt-only stand unless you pay for the upgrade

Buy it if you're

  • MacBook Pro and Mac Studio owners who want one cable for display, charging and peripherals
  • People on video calls every day who want a great camera, mics and speakers built in
  • Designers and photographers working in Display P3 for screen and web
  • Anyone who values Apple's industrial design and macOS firmware updates

Skip it if you're

  • Gamers: 60 Hz is a hard limit
  • HDR video and photo work: the Studio Display XDR is the Apple display for that
  • Windows or Linux users, who lose most of the camera and speaker features
  • Budget buyers: the BenQ MA270S matches the panel's sharpness for $600 less

Mac compatibility

Will the Apple Studio Display work with your Mac?

Pick your Mac and we'll check it against Apple's own display limits for that exact model.

1 · Your Mac

2 · Its chip

Pick your Mac first. Not sure? Apple menu → About This Mac.

We remember your Mac on this device only, so every RetinaDesk review checks it for you.

What we check

  • Native 5K resolution
  • Refresh rate
  • How many at once
  • One-cable charging
  • Which port to use

Source: Apple's display-support pages for every Apple silicon Mac, as used by our external display tool.

Apple Studio Display compatibility at a glance, by Mac

Works fully

  • MacBook Air 13" (M1, M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Air 15" (M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Pro 13" (M1, M2)
  • MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max)
  • Mac mini (M1, M2, M2 Pro, M4, M4 Pro, M6, M5 Pro)
  • Mac Studio (M1 Max, M1 Ultra, M2 Max, M2 Ultra, M4 Max, M3 Ultra, M5 Max, M5 Ultra)
  • iMac 24" (M1 (2-port), M1 (4-port), M3 (2-port), M3 (4-port), M4 (2-port), M4 (4-port))
  • Mac Pro (M2 Ultra)

Works, with a catch

  • MacBook Pro 16" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max): 96W charging, slightly short

Won't work

  • MacBook Neo (A18 Pro): Needs a Thunderbolt port

From Apple's published display limits and charger wattages for each Mac. Pick yours above for the full detail.

How it stacks up

Where the Apple Studio Display lands against its rivals.

Manufacturer specs for every monitor we cover. Further right is better. Tap a dot to open that review.

Price (MSRP)

5th of 6

$1,599

$3,299 $799

Rated SDR brightness

2nd of 6

600 nits

400 nits 1000 nits

Refresh rate

3rd of 6

60 Hz

60 Hz 120 Hz

Laptop charging

2nd of 6

96W

90W 140W

Stand height travel

6th of 6

None

None 150 mm

Pixel density

Same across all 6

218 PPI

Every monitor here matches it, so this one is a level playing field.

The verdict, up top

Ask an Apple Store which external monitor to buy for a MacBook Pro and you will walk out with a Studio Display, and that is still a sensible answer in 2026. It is not the best value: the BenQ MA270S matches its sharpness for $600 less. It is the most complete package. One Thunderbolt cable gives you a Retina-density screen, a genuinely good camera, studio-quality microphones and speakers that sound like a real desktop set, all updated through macOS like any other Apple accessory.

The panel

macOS is designed around roughly 218 pixels per inch. At 27 inches, only a 5120 × 2880 (5K) panel hits that density, which is what lets macOS render everything at a clean 2× scale; our PPI calculator shows how other densities behave. The result is text that looks identical to the built-in screen on a MacBook Pro.

Brightness peaks at 600 nits in SDR, enough for a bright office or a desk near a window. There is no HDR, no Mini-LED and no local dimming, and Apple does not publish a contrast ratio, which is unusual when every rival lists one. Colour covers 100% of Display P3, and the display ships with reference modes for BT.709, BT.601, DCI-P3, sRGB and P3 D65 photography, so most people never need a colorimeter.

Thunderbolt 5 and the single-cable desk

The 2026 Studio Display has two Thunderbolt 5 ports. The upstream port carries the picture, 96W of charging and data to your Mac; the downstream port can daisy-chain a second display or run a fast SSD. Two more USB-C ports at 10 Gb/s handle peripherals.

In practice that means one cable to a 14- or 16-inch MacBook Pro keeps the laptop charged and the screen, camera, microphones, speakers and USB devices connected. That single-cable experience is a large part of why Apple can still charge $1,599. Under a heavy sustained load, a 16-inch Max MacBook Pro can draw more than 96W; the Studio Display XDR and Dell U3224KB deliver 140W if that matters to you.

What the Apple premium buys

Compared with the BenQ MA270S, the extra money goes into three things. The aluminium enclosure is finished like a MacBook Pro, with a seamless front. The six-speaker system with force-cancelling woofers and Spatial Audio replaces a pair of desktop speakers. The 12MP Ultra Wide camera with Center Stage and Desk View is the best webcam built into any monitor. If you would otherwise buy a $150 to $200 webcam and decent speakers, the real price gap shrinks considerably.

What you give up

The standard stand only tilts. Height adjustment is a $400 upgrade, while the MA270S, BenQ PD2730S and ASUS PA27JCV include fully adjustable stands.

There is no HDR. If you grade HDR video or edit HDR photos, look at the Studio Display XDR, which adds a 2,304-zone Mini-LED backlight and 2,000-nit peaks.

It also tops out at 60 Hz. That ceiling is in the panel, not your Mac. The Studio Display XDR runs at up to 120 Hz on an M2 Pro or newer.

Which Macs can drive it

Every Apple silicon Mac can drive one Studio Display at full 5K. Base M1 and M2 laptops are limited to one external display in total, so a daisy-chained second monitor will not light up on those machines. Check your exact model with our external display support tool.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a 5K monitor you will never have to think about, especially if you are on video calls daily and do not already own a good webcam and speakers. Skip it if you already have those peripherals and would rather keep $600, or if you need HDR or more than 60 Hz.

The bottom line

The Studio Display is still the default 5K monitor for a Mac, but in 2026 it has real competition. The BenQ MA270S gives you the same sharpness for $600 less, and the Studio Display XDR covers buyers who need true HDR. If you are still deciding, our Studio Display alternatives guide walks through every option, and the Studio Display vs BenQ MA270S comparison covers the most common decision.

The bottom line

Apple Studio Display: outstanding

The simplest 27-inch 5K for a Mac. A 218 PPI P3 panel, one Thunderbolt 5 cable for picture, charging and data, the best camera in any monitor and six speakers that sound like a decent desktop set. You pay an Apple premium, and you get Apple polish in return.

$1,599

launch price · Amazon's price changes often

Check it with my Mac

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases.

Still deciding? Read Apple Studio Display vs LG UltraFine 5K

Independent lab measurements

What the Apple Studio Display actually measures

Apple publishes 600 nits and P3 wide colour, and does not publish a contrast figure at all. Two labs measured the 2026 Studio Display: it hits its brightness claim exactly, and the missing contrast number turns out to be around 1100:1 — ordinary IPS territory, and the clearest argument for the XDR if you need real dynamic range.

2 independent labs Colorimetry Research CR-100 colorimeter Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Maximum SDR brightness

600 nits

Matches Apple's 600

2 labs · 518–600

Primary: LTT Labs

Native contrast ratio

1,100:1

Apple publishes no contrast figure

Primary: LTT Labs

DCI-P3 coverage

98.4%

−2% vs Apple's 100%

Primary: LTT Labs

Colour accuracy

0.60 ΔE

70% below Apple's 2

2 labs · 0.20–0.60

Primary: LTT Labs

Measured colour gamut coverage

Measured Apple claims

sRGB 99.9%

Claimed 100% · Apple Display mode; Internet & Web mode clamps tighter at 99.2% · LTT Labs

Display P3 (D65) 98.4%

Claimed 100% · Blue primary falls slightly short · LTT Labs

DCI-P3 (Digital Cinema) 97.5%

LTT Labs

Colour accuracy

Average error, reference modes Photography, Digital Cinema and Internet & Web presets
0.60 ΔE LTT Labs
Average error, Apple Display mode Max near 3, driven by a slightly cyan white point
1.0 ΔE LTT Labs
Average error
0.20 ΔE Tom's Guide

Gamut volume

sRGB volume Volume relative to sRGB, not coverage — over 100% is normal
114.1% Tom's Guide
DCI-P3 volume Volume metric; LTT Labs measured 98.4% P3 coverage
80.8% Tom's Guide

Where these numbers come from

RetinaDesk does not run a photometry lab. Every figure above is an instrumented reading published by the lab named beside it, collected here so you can compare them against Apple's claimed specification in one place. Each lab's full review is linked below, so you can check any number at its source. Our own contribution for the Apple Studio Display is the Mac side: which Macs drive it at native resolution, over which port and cable, described in our methodology.

  • LTT Labs

    Colorimetry Research CR-100 colorimeter

  • Tom's Guide

    Nikita Achanta · Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Compare the Apple Studio Display

Head-to-head with the monitors most shoppers cross-shop against.

Pick any other monitor from our catalog and see the spec-by-spec matchup instantly.

Before you buy

Three quick checks that determine whether the Apple Studio Display will actually run at its full resolution on your specific Mac.

Your shortlist

Monitors you're weighing

Saved on this device only. Come back any time.