Skip to main content
RetinaDesk
5K 27"

BenQ

BenQ PD2730S

BenQ BenQ PD2730S 5K 27-inch monitor for Mac
  • 218 PPI Retina sharp on macOS
  • 60 Hz Refresh rate
  • 90W One-cable charging
  • Thunderbolt 4 Daisy-chain capable
  • 150 mm Height adjustment
  • None Camera

BenQ PD2730S 5K · 27″ · 218 PPI

BenQ PD2730S Review: Calman-Verified 5K for Mac Colour Work

Research-based review 3 min read

RetinaDesk verdict

Outstanding

Freelance photo and video editors delivering colour-accurate work to clients

The 5K for Mac colour professionals who don't want reference-monitor prices. Factory Calman and Pantone verified with a printed Delta E report, a Nano Matte surface, Thunderbolt 4 with daisy-chain, a hardware KVM and a full ergonomic stand. The most professional 5K Mac monitor under $1,500.

Will it work with your Mac? Check against Apple's own limits in five seconds.

Launch price

$1,199

Amazon prices move often; check today's.

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases. It never changes your price.

The 30-second verdict

What you get, what you give up, and who it's for.

Why you'll love it

  • Calman Verified, Pantone Validated and Pantone SkinTone, with a printed Delta E ≤ 2 report in the box
  • Nano Matte anti-glare surface handles bright and mixed lighting well
  • 2,000:1 static contrast, strong for an IPS panel at this price
  • Hardware KVM shares one keyboard and mouse between a Mac and a second computer
  • Thunderbolt 4 with 90W charging and daisy-chain to a second 5K display
  • Full ergonomic stand with 150 mm of height travel, swivel and 90° pivot
  • Hotkey Puck G3 switches colour modes without touching the on-screen menu

Think twice about

  • Costs $200 more than the BenQ MA270S, which has the same resolution
  • Basic 2 × 3W speakers
  • DisplayHDR 400 is entry-level HDR, not suitable for HDR mastering
  • 90W charging, slightly less than the MA270S's 96W

Buy it if you're

  • Freelance photo and video editors delivering colour-accurate work to clients
  • Print workflows that need Pantone-validated rendering
  • Studios that switch between several colour spaces every day
  • Mac and Windows users who want a built-in KVM

Skip it if you're

  • Developers and writers, who should buy the MA270S and save $200
  • HDR mastering, which needs far more brightness and local dimming
  • Anyone who will never use a calibration report

Mac compatibility

Will the BenQ PD2730S work with your Mac?

Pick your Mac and we'll check it against Apple's own display limits for that exact model.

1 · Your Mac

2 · Its chip

Pick your Mac first. Not sure? Apple menu → About This Mac.

We remember your Mac on this device only, so every RetinaDesk review checks it for you.

What we check

  • Native 5K resolution
  • Refresh rate
  • How many at once
  • One-cable charging
  • Which port to use

Source: Apple's display-support pages for every Apple silicon Mac, as used by our external display tool.

BenQ PD2730S compatibility at a glance, by Mac

Works fully

  • MacBook Air 13" (M1, M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Air 15" (M2, M3, M4, M5)
  • MacBook Pro 13" (M1, M2)
  • MacBook Pro 14" (M3, M4, M5)
  • Mac mini (M1, M2, M2 Pro, M4, M4 Pro, M6, M5 Pro)
  • Mac Studio (M1 Max, M1 Ultra, M2 Max, M2 Ultra, M4 Max, M3 Ultra, M5 Max, M5 Ultra)
  • iMac 24" (M1 (2-port), M1 (4-port), M3 (2-port), M3 (4-port), M4 (2-port), M4 (4-port))
  • Mac Pro (M2 Ultra)

Works, with a catch

  • MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max): 90W charging, slightly short
  • MacBook Pro 16" (M1 Pro, M1 Max, M2 Pro, M2 Max, M3 Pro, M3 Max, M4 Pro, M4 Max, M5 Pro, M5 Max): 90W charging, slightly short

Won't work

  • MacBook Neo (A18 Pro): Can't run 5K

From Apple's published display limits and charger wattages for each Mac. Pick yours above for the full detail.

How it stacks up

Where the BenQ PD2730S lands against its rivals.

Manufacturer specs for every monitor we cover. Further right is better. Tap a dot to open that review.

Price (MSRP)

3rd of 6

$1,199

$3,299 $799

Rated SDR brightness

5th of 6

400 nits

400 nits 1000 nits

Refresh rate

3rd of 6

60 Hz

60 Hz 120 Hz

Laptop charging

6th of 6

90W

90W 140W

Stand height travel

Best (tied) of 6

150 mm

None 150 mm

Pixel density

Same across all 6

218 PPI

Every monitor here matches it, so this one is a level playing field.

The verdict, up top

The PD2730S is essentially the BenQ MA270S with a professional toolkit added. It has the same 27-inch 5K resolution and 218 PPI density, plus factory Calman verification with a printed Delta E report, Pantone Validated and Pantone SkinTone certification, a matte surface, a hardware KVM and a desk puck for switching colour modes. It costs $200 more. If colour accuracy is part of how you earn money, that is an easy upgrade; if it isn’t, buy the MA270S.

The professional difference

Each PD2730S is measured at the factory against a calibration target and ships with a printed Calman Verified report showing an average Delta E of 2 or less. That matters for three practical reasons:

  • Client trust. You can show a client documented proof that your screen is accurate, which freelancers and agencies use more than you might expect.
  • Consistency. Several PD2730S monitors in a studio match each other because every unit is calibrated to the same target.
  • Uniformity. Colour is held within a documented specification across the panel, not just in the centre.

Pantone Validated means the Pantone Color Institute has certified the monitor to reproduce its colour library. Pantone SkinTone adds verified accuracy for skin tones, which matters for portrait photographers, fashion retouchers and video colourists.

Independent labs broadly confirm BenQ’s claims. Contrast and colour accuracy land at or better than the specification in every test we found. Brightness varies most between labs (346 to 485 nits depending on the rig and picture mode). The full, attributed figures are in the lab section below.

Hardware KVM

The built-in KVM lets one keyboard and mouse control two computers. Connect a Mac over Thunderbolt 4 and a PC over USB-C or DisplayPort, plug your keyboard and mouse into the monitor, and switch between machines with a hotkey. A standalone KVM that handles 5K costs $200 or more, so this is real value for anyone working across Mac and Windows, or for studios with mixed workstations.

HDR support

DisplayHDR 400 is VESA’s entry-level HDR tier. The PD2730S supports HDR10 and gives a representative preview when editing HDR video in Final Cut Pro or Premiere, but it is not a mastering display. HDR mastering needs sustained brightness of 1,000 nits and local dimming, which you get from the Apple Studio Display XDR or a dedicated reference monitor. Use the PD2730S for HDR-aware editing where the final grade is checked on a proper HDR display.

Colour modes and the puck

Twelve preset colour modes are available in the on-screen menu or from the Hotkey Puck G3, a small wired controller with three programmable buttons that ships in the box. You can switch instantly between Display P3 for app design, DCI-P3 for video, sRGB for the web and a Pantone mode for print matching. For someone who shoots in Adobe RGB, edits in Display P3 and delivers sRGB for web and Pantone-matched files for print, that saves real time every day.

Connectivity and Mac compatibility

Thunderbolt 4 upstream carries the picture, data and 90W of charging over one cable; a downstream Thunderbolt 4 port daisy-chains a second display. As with any daisy-chain, your Mac must support two external displays: Pro and Max chips from the M1 Pro onward and the base M4, M5 and M6 do; base M1 and M2 laptops do not. Check your model in our external display support tool.

Who should buy the PD2730S

  • Freelance photo and video editors doing colour-accurate client work
  • Anyone managing several colour spaces every day
  • Studios that need documented calibration for client approval
  • Mac and Windows users who will use the KVM
  • Print workflows that require Pantone-validated colour

Who should buy the MA270S instead

  • Developers, writers and general MacBook Pro users
  • Budget buyers who will never look at the calibration report
  • Mac-only users who don’t need a KVM
  • Anyone who prefers a glossier screen and a 70 Hz refresh

The bottom line

The PD2730S charges $200 for professional colour features. If you bill clients for colour-accurate work, or juggle several colour spaces daily, it pays for itself quickly. If you are wondering whether you need Calman verification, you probably don’t, and the MA270S is the better buy. See the MA270S vs PD2730S comparison for the details, or how it ranks in our best 5K monitors for MacBook Pro guide.

The bottom line

BenQ PD2730S: outstanding

The 5K for Mac colour professionals who don't want reference-monitor prices. Factory Calman and Pantone verified with a printed Delta E report, a Nano Matte surface, Thunderbolt 4 with daisy-chain, a hardware KVM and a full ergonomic stand. The most professional 5K Mac monitor under $1,500.

$1,199

launch price · Amazon's price changes often

Check it with my Mac

As an Amazon Associate, RetinaDesk earns from qualifying purchases.

Still deciding? Read BenQ PD2730S vs BenQ MA270S

Independent lab measurements

What the BenQ PD2730S actually measures

BenQ claims 400 nits, 2000:1 and ΔE ≤ 2 for the PD2730S. Three labs measured it and brightness is where they diverge sharply — from 346 to 485 nits depending on the rig and mode. Contrast and colour accuracy land close to or better than the claim in every test. Every figure is attributed to the lab that measured it.

3 independent labs Colorimeter (model not disclosed) Lab colorimeter (model not disclosed)

Maximum SDR brightness

485 nits

+21% vs BenQ's 400

3 labs · 340–485

Primary: PCWorld

Native contrast ratio

2,070:1

+4% vs BenQ's 2,000:1

2 labs · 1,890–2,070:1

Primary: PCWorld

DCI-P3 coverage

100%

+2% vs BenQ's 98%

Primary: PCWorld

Colour accuracy

0.10 ΔE

95% below BenQ's 2

2 labs · 0.10–0.42

Primary: Tom's Guide

Measured colour gamut coverage

Measured BenQ claims

sRGB 100%

Claimed 100% · PCWorld

DCI-P3 100%

Claimed 98% · Digital Camera World measured 97% on the same claim · PCWorld

Adobe RGB 89%

Digital Camera World measured 86% — not a claimed figure · PCWorld

Brightness & contrast

Peak SDR brightness
485 nits PCWorld
Peak HDR brightness 10% window size
448 nits Tom's Guide
Maximum contrast ratio
2,070:1 PCWorld
Peak contrast Only at ~25% brightness; closer to 1000:1 elsewhere
1,890:1 Digital Camera World
Luminance uniformity spread Brightest to dimmest region
12% Digital Camera World

Colour accuracy

Average colour error
0.10 ΔE Tom's Guide
Average error, second lab
0.42 ΔE Digital Camera World
Gamma Against a 2.2 target — very slightly bright
2.1 PCWorld
White point Against a 6500 K target
6,700 K PCWorld

Gamut volume

sRGB volume Volume, not coverage
104.9% Tom's Guide
DCI-P3 volume
98.3% Tom's Guide

Where these numbers come from

RetinaDesk does not run a photometry lab. Every figure above is an instrumented reading published by the lab named beside it, collected here so you can compare them against BenQ's claimed specification in one place. Each lab's full review is linked below, so you can check any number at its source. Our own contribution for the BenQ PD2730S is the Mac side: which Macs drive it at native resolution, over which port and cable, described in our methodology.

Compare the BenQ PD2730S

Head-to-head with the monitors most shoppers cross-shop against.

Pick any other monitor from our catalog and see the spec-by-spec matchup instantly.

Before you buy

Three quick checks that determine whether the BenQ PD2730S will actually run at its full resolution on your specific Mac.

Your shortlist

Monitors you're weighing

Saved on this device only. Come back any time.